Latest News

Madhya Pradesh State Assembly Election Result

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which ruled the state of Madhya Pradesh for three straight terms suffered the defeat from Congress after a nail-biting fight which ended in a Cliffhanger. According to Election Commission, Indian National Congress secured 114 seats in the 230-member Madhya Pradesh Assembly, whereas BJP managed to win only 109 seats.

No single party could able to pass the halfway mark, i.e. 116 seats, that is required to claim a majority in the assembly. However, Madhya Pradesh Congress chief Kamal Nath wrote to Governor Anandiben Patel, staking claim to form the government in the state.

The letter said: “The Congress party has emerged as the single largest party with a majority support. The Bahujan Samaj Party, Samajwadi Party along with the independents have in addition assured support to the Congress party.”

“As the president of Pradesh Congress Committee, I seek an appointment with your Excellency late tonight, as soon as the results are officially declared along with my senior leaders to apprise you and seek your permission to form a government in the state of Madhya Pradesh,” the letter further reads.

Screenshot (136)

Screenshot (137)

Read Chhattisgarh State Assembly Election Result

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More