On Tuesday, Meta-owned announced a bunch of security features amid growing concerns about privacy and user data protection. “Mark Zuckerberg announces three new WhatsApp privacy features to kick off a new WhatsApp privacy campaign,” the messaging platform said on Twitter.
According to media reports, Mark Zuckerberg introduced three new features to users:
- Exit a group chat without notifying everyone.
- Control who can see when you’re online.
- Prevent screenshots of messages that have only been viewed once.
In addition to this, WhatsApp users can now delete their messages even two days after they are sent.
According to Mark Zuckerberg’s statement, “the new WhatsApp features provide users with more privacy, protection and control.”
Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg said WhatsApp’s new privacy features are expected to roll out this month. The messaging platform has also launched a campaign to educate individuals about the new privacy features.
According to WhatsApp, “a privacy study found that most users prefer to remain hidden online. “72% said they value being able to speak in an honest, unfiltered way — but only slightly more than 47% % would prefer to do so in a safe, private space.”