Download Unicorn Signals App

Powered By EquityPandit

Yashwant Sinha Named as Opposition’s Candidate for Presidential Poll

Yashwant Sinha, a former Union Minister in the NDA government, led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee, was nominated as the united opposition candidate in the presidential election. The BJP has yet to announce its choice for the July poll.
Opposition leaders gathered in the Parliament annexe for a meeting called by Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, unanimously agreeing on Mr Sinha’s name.

The joint statement called on the BJP and its allies to support Mr Sinha’s candidacy so that the country can elect a worthy Rashtrapati elected unopposed. A committee has been formed to guide Yashwant Sinha’s campaign.

Earlier in the day, Trinamool Congress leader Mr Sinha had alluded to his candidacy when he said he must step aside from the party to fight for greater opposition unity.

Former West Bengal Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi, Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar and former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah declined to run for President.

The election process for a new President began on June 15. The last date to submit nominations is June 29. If necessary, opinion polls will be held on July 18, and votes will be counted in July.

Get Daily Prediction & Stocks Tips On Your Mobile